Thursday Music Roundup

December 10, 2009 § Leave a comment

Gucci ManeThe State vs. Radric Davis

The latest album from Alabama rapper, Gucci Mane. In my opinion this album is solid start to finish and solidifies Gucci’s ability to make a full album, not just internet singles. Standout tracks are Heavy, a raw southern anthem track, with an old-school dirty south sound to the production and Stupid Wild which features two of my favorites, Lil Wayne and Cam’ron. Needless to say it’s worth a purchase.

The Road – Original Film Score by Nick Cave & Warren Ellis

I haven’t seen the film yet (although it’s priority for me right now) but it’s one of my favorite books of all time. With a writing/direction/composing team like this I can’t imagine that it’s not amazing. This isn’t the first time that Cave and Ellis have painted a picture like this with their orchestration. Their soundtrack for The Assassination of Jesse James was equally beautiful and stands on it’s own as a beautiful album. I highly recommend this when you are working/writing and need something progressive and low-key. I played this the other day while it was raining out and couldn’t believe how depressed it sounded, pretty much perfect for the movie I’m sure.

Napalm Death – Time Waits For No Slave

On a WHOLE other level than the two previous recommends is the kings of the Death/Grind sound themselves, Napalm Death. Napalm Death was one of the first Death Metal bands I ever listened to when I was younger and they really put me onto the sound. Scum and Harmony Corruption are easily some of my favorite metal releases of all time. With this release they continue the sound that they are known for with absolute precision in the technical side of the music, with hard terrorizing vocals. For lovers of Napalm and metal this is a must have.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thursday Music Roundup at Evan Dennis.

meta

