Thursday Music Roundup

March 27, 2010 § Leave a comment

Couldn’t get to this yesterday due to work so it’s really a Friday roundup. Here’s some stuff I like.

Red Sparowes – The Fear is Excruciating. But Therein Lies the Answer

These guys are consistently great post-rock. The new album is pretty good to listen to when you’re in the mood for something atmospheric. I love listening to stuff like this when I’m flying or snowboarding. If you like this kind of stuff it’s a solid release, if not I don’t expect it will sway you toward this genre or blow you away. For fans of Explosions In the Sky, Mogwai, Godspeed etc. I cannot wait to see these guys at Mercury lounge with Doomriders next month!

oOoOO – No Summr4U

I first heard these guys when Salem put a bunch of their tracks in this mix they did for us at WMIG. They have a similar sound to Salem, dark chopped and skrewed synth goth darkness. The EP is really fun and solid, I’ve listened to it a bunch this week. I love the beat in Mumbai. They even give Lady Gaga

Broken Bells – Broken Bells

The long awaited collaboration between The Shin’s James Mercer and Dangermouse. One of the greatest musicians in indie rock paired up with a producer with an incredible ear for originality. If you look at Danger’s resume of projects it’s pretty undeniable that this guy can makes great hits. I met James Mercer years back at a Shins show in Philly when they were first getting big and I have to say he’s not only incredible talented, he’s a seriously nice guy. This album is full of great songs, I think my favorite is still Trap Doors but I’ve been listening to the whole album all the way through. Very solid stuff.

Alpha & Omega – Devil’s Bed EP

This is my hardcore recommend for the week. Solid vocals and hard breakdowns. Sinister lyrics are followed by some really strong hooks with a tough sound. Anyone looking for some new metal/hardcore should definitely give this album a shot.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thursday Music Roundup at Evan Dennis.

meta

